DUI

I have no idea what it has to do with being drunk, but it sure is fun!

I have no idea what is up with me lately, but physics based puzzlers are to me now what pixelated games were to me a few weeks ago: an absolute obsession.

In fact, heads up, tomorrow’s game is likely to be yet ANOTHER physics based action puzzler if I can’t convince myself to start working on the review for Dirty Split that I should have finished by now.

The interesting thing about DUI is that had it come out a mere week or two earlier, I think it’s overall standing in the Casual Gaming world would have been much like it.  The only problem is that Totem Destroyer beat it to the punch.

At their very most basic levels, DUI and Totem Destroyer are very similar games.  In each you have an item stacked precariously atop a structure of blocks, and you must prevent that item from being destroyed as you remove a requisite number of afore mentioned blocks.

While Totem Destroyer is easily the flashier of the two, with prettier visuals and a funky jungle beat, it is DUI that far outstrips its predacessor on so many levels it’s ridiculous.

In fact, DUI has MORE levels than Totem Destroyer which was one of my chief complaints with that game.  Further it has far more creative levels, and you are given, in some cases, some control over the cherished item(s), forcing you to come up with increasingly unique solutions.

For Totem Destroyer, I felt that that game had struck upon a solid formula, one that could be perfected with just a few adjustments.

DUI proves that you can settle for a few adjustments, or just go balls out and make a thoroughly awesome game.

And yes, there’s a level editor so even if you manage to play through all of DUI’s levels (which itself is an accomplishment considering that I am currently stuck on I think 31), you can build even more blocky goodness.

Yup, there it is, I simply just can’t think of anything bad to say about DUI; it’s hard, but you feel as though the solutions in it are far more based upon your actions than the luck of the fall.  But most importantly, it’s just crazy fun.

And that’s all that really matters.

Leave a Reply

