Ginormo Sword

I’ve been neglecting you guys last few days, and I’m sorry, but while the neglect continues, a game, perhaps, for your entertainment:

Do you like big pixels?  Do you like clicking until your forearm feels like it’s going to fall off?  Who doesn’t?

NOTE: Check out my player’s guide here.

Babarageo has a big old fat yen for retro design.  Thankfully, he couples that freakish obsession with some intriguing and altogether fun games.

Ginormo Sword is a kind of action/fantasy adventure where, for some reason, you are tasked with going forth upon the land and laying waste to anything that moves with your sword.  Originality?  You betcha!

Okay, so the setting, goal, and even monsters aren’t exactly original in concept, the presentation is to a degree.  At once you’ll feel the big blocky pixels instilling within you a sense of nostalgia while the gameplay itself gives a kind of new feel to the whole experience.

Frankly, the prehistoric age of gaming never had gameplay this fluid.  That’s not to say that there aren’t some sticking points to Ginormo Sword.  A common complaint is that you must control with the mouse which could lead to some issues as you acclimate yourself to the game style.

But once you get it under control, I think you’ll find that the simple control scheme of moving your guy next to a monster and clicking as fast as humanly possible, to be rather ergonomic, so long as you don’t make any sudden movements, and don’t care about carpal tunnel syndrome.

Advancing in the game comes in two parts.  Opening up the map is a function of beating the individual hotspots that your character comes across, and then beating the boss of that section of the map.  Of course, if only things were that easy.

To do this, you’ll need to power your guy up frequently, which can only be done by getting money and finding one of many different places to upgrade.  You can increase the stats of your character and your sword as well s buy magic spells and armor and all kinds of other goodies.

You can also, um, increase the width and length of your sword, which does prove to be an asset later on in the game.

And that’s about it.  You can use your own mouse skillz to minimize the amount of upgrades you need, or, if you’re like me, you suck, and will find yourself visiting the same enemies over and over again so that you can max out your abilities in time to beat the bosses to oblivion and back.

For a game that looks so simple and prone to nostalgia fatigue, Ginormo Sword will keep you coming back over and over again, and I’m glad it does.

8 Responses to Ginormo Sword

  1. Ginzig says:

    well…. that was actually fun! I wasn’t sure I would like it, but I do. It helped get out some of the nervous energy I have before trying to go to bed and get some sleep. I had my orientation yesterday and today was my first ‘real’ day at work. It went well, I think. Better than I thought. I think I will like it there. They offered my an alternative schedule which I think I will accept. Three ten hour days and then 8 hours Saturday. I would have Tuesdays, Fridays, and Sundays off. I would spend less gas money and have more time with the kids. Also give me more time to find a house or apartment to rent.

    I made it to 265 on Boomshine last night… I don’t suppose you recall your highest score?

  2. Nah, don’t recall it at all. I don’t really even pay attention to the score, just look at the pretty colors.

    Anyway, GREAT! I’m glad the new job is working out well for you. Mine is giving me hell, which is why all the quiet, in fact, just about everything right now is the suck, home and work, and everything, but I’m hoping that by the end of next month everything will calm down nicely and I can get back in my normal, considerably less stressful, life style.

    as for this game, yeah, it’s pretty fun. One of the tricks, thus far, is to hang back after you get to a certain point, and just spend some time building up cash so you can beat the hell out of everything that gets in your way.

    But I’m suck on like the eighth boss, the witch, who is just beating the hell out of me.

    Oh, and I know you finished 5 days, and I was wondering what you thought? I went back and replayed them all and am now half way through 6 days (the last one), and I’m enjoying my third run through of the games.

    Okay, back to studying for me!

  3. Ginzig says:

    Sorry to hear that that everything is so stressful right now. Since the new job is the only thing that seems to be going right, I completely sympathize. My mother isn’t speaking to me right now because I refuse to to Michael back in order to save the house. When I explained to her ALL my reasons why, she said I was being selfish. I know that you are private about your own life, but if you ever needed to vent, I would gladly listen. It’s the least I could do for all the times you’ve listened to me.

    I loved 5 Days! I thought I had mentioned that in one of the emails I sent, but who knows… I probably forgot. I feel like I have my head up my ass lately. Once I had the walk through (except for a couple spots I still needed to ask you for help with), that made it so much easier. Having the walk through didn’t take the fun out of it, just the frustration I know I would have had trying to figure it out on my own and both of us knowing my level of computer saavy.. yeah, why don’t I just stop there. 🙂 I think I remember you directions to download the next one. Would it be too much to ask you to find a walk through for that one? Of course, only after you’ve taken the test and everything has calmed down. I honestly don’t know when I’ll have time to play it for the next week or so anyways.

    Good luck with your studying!

  4. […] then, I HIGHLY recommend you go back and give Ginormo Sword another crack.  For many, they eat when they are stressed, for me, I play mindless videogames, and […]

  5. […] at this site’s statistics, I’ve noticed thatGinormo Sword remains the most frequented post.  As a result, I’m going to make a deal.  Below the fold […]

  6. […] that said, let’s play Ginormo Sword, shall […]

  7. ginormo sword nerd says:

    loool i play this game so muuuch…but just 1 ?…how do u beat death!!??!!? he is over impossible, cause he can kill u in 4-10 hits with platebody…D:

  8. usearcade prehacks it rulez says:

    usearcade prehacks it rulez
    it has hacked ginormo sword

Leave a Reply

